Transducers 2017 TaiwanWelcomeGeneral InfoProgramIndustry SessionAuthors / AbstractsSponsors / ExhibitsAttendeesAbout KaohsiungContact
Area: 2,946 km2. Greater Kaohsiung covers 38 administrative districts Pingtong City, and nearby towns in Pingtong County, stretching from Central Mountains to Taiwan Strait.
Location: Taiwan's southwest.
Co-ordinates: Longitude: 120 East, Latitude: 22 North.
Climate: The average annual rainfall is 1750mm. The rainy season lasts from May to October. The average temperature is 24.4C. July is the warmest month and January the coldest. There is little difference between daytime and nighttime temperatures.
Population: Approx. 2,770,000
Language: Mandarin and a variety of dialects, these include Taiwanese, Hakkanese and a number of aboriginal languages. English is spoken in all major hotels and restaurants. Kaohsiung is an English-friendly city.
Currency: US$1 is equivalent to approximately NT$30. Hotels, department stores, airports, larger restaurants and shops accept credit cards. For exact current rate please visit:
Taxi Fare: The base rate is NT$85 which covers the first 1.5 km. Thereafter the fare increases in NT$5 increments with each additional 250m. NT$5 for every 3 minutes if speed is under 5km/hr.
Bus Fare: NT$12 (each way)
Power: 110 volt AC / 60 Hz cycle
Tips: Tipping is not customary in Taiwan, though hotels and restaurants may include a 10% service charge on the bill.
Visas: Foreign nationals may obtain tourist visas if they hold foreign passports or travel documents valid for more than six months in the Republic of China for purposes of sightseeing, business, family visits, study or training, medical treatment, or other legitimate activities. Visa requirements included one completed application form, incoming and outgoing travel tickets, one photo, documents verifying the purpose of the visits, and other relevant documents. The Visitor Visa Application Form can be downloaded from the website of the Bureau of Consular Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Visa-exempt countries permits a duration of stay up to 90 days include the following: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Canada, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Republic of Korea, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Monaco, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland, U.K., U.S.A. and Vatican City State. The nationals of the following countries are eligible for the visa exemption program, which permits a duration of stay up to 30 days: Australia, Malaysia, Singapore. This information might not be current, please visit the website of Bureau of Consular Affairs, Ministry of Foreign Affairs for more information.

Copyright 2015, All Rights Reserved, Transducers 2017 and